Women’s Coalition Announce SHERO and Courage Award Winners

For Immediate Release: May 10, 2019
Contact: Nicole Eubanks at 405-286-0356 or nicole@okwc.org

Oklahoma Women’s Coalition Announce SHERO and Courage Award Winners

Oklahoma – The Oklahoma Women’s Coalition will recognize legislators and community leaders who helped promote important policy changes at two 2019 FORWARD Legislative Receptions held March 16th in Tulsa and March 23rd in Oklahoma City. These receptions celebrate the legislative efforts, successes and progress made this year on behalf of Oklahoma women and girls.
The Courage Award is dedicated to brave policy champions who worked tirelessly to improve equity and restore hope for Oklahoma Women. The 2019 Courage Award winner is Representative Regina Goodwin awarded in Tulsa and Senator Kay Floyd in Oklahoma City. The two 2019 SHERO of the Year recipients, nominated by members of the community, are Oklahoma City Councilwoman Nikki Nice and community leader Mana Tahaie from Tulsa.
Representative Goodwin was elected in 2015 to serve the residents of District 73 and currently holds the position of Assistant Minority Floor Leaders. Among several priorities, her focus at the capitol has been initiating an apprenticeship and job pilot program with the Department of Transportation, successfully opposing the placement of a Juvenile Detention Center, and leading a Community Policing effort to build better relationships between law enforcement officers and communities.
Senator Floyd was elected to the State Senate in 2014 and currently serves as the Senate Democratic Leader. Throughout her illustrious career in public service she has focused on improving our education system and working for Oklahoma’s women and children. She has been the leading champion at the Capitol for paid family leave and pay transparency legislation. Among her many accomplishments during the 2019 legislative session, Senator Floyd successfully guided legislation to create a standardized rape kit tracking system for victims, added consent education curriculum in Oklahoma schools, and created a new law allowing schools to stock asthma inhalers for students.
Tahaie has been a long-time organizer for marginalized communities in Tulsa. She currently serves as the interim Director of Immigrant & Refugee Services at YWCA. Ms. Tahaie has led YWCA Tulsa’s racial justice initiatives since 2008 and women’s empowerment efforts since 2014.
Councilwoman Nice was elected to the Oklahoma City Council in 2018 to serve as OKC’s Ward 7 representative. She’s the 10th woman, and only the second woman of color to serve on the Council since the city’s incorporation in 1890. Councilwoman Nice serves on the MAPS 3 Citizens Advisory Board, the Zoological Trust, and the Trails Advisory Committee. She currently serves as an Executive Board Member for HeartLine, Inc., Special Friends of Ralph Ellison Library, the Black Liberated Arts Center Inc., and Working Together for Change Ministries. She also is the Northeast Academy PTSA Vice President.
The Legislative Reception is a free fundraising event but RSVP is required at http://okwc.org/forward2019 or by calling (405) 286-0356. OWC appreciates the generous support of Agora Event Center, Award Solutions of Oklahoma, Variety Care, and OptionOne Pharmacy in honoring these amazing Oklahoma women.
The Oklahoma Women’s Coalition, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, does not endorse or oppose candidates for public office or political parties. We seek to identify and promote bills and policies benefiting women and girls that can win support from Republican and Democratic members of the Oklahoma Legislature. For more information, please visit http://www.okwc.org/.